Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

Dude. I'm well aware of what it's doing. I've since disabled it. That I had to disable it, rather than enable it, is my beef. An operating system upgrade should not start barfing things at their remote servers without making damn sure I know about it and okay it before they do it. Opt-in is cool, opt-out is not, and opt-out that relies on you not using the feature as it's designed to be used (cmd-space and type) is extra uncool. All they'd need to do is create a modal dialog with a yes or no response and there'd be absolutely no problem, none whatsoever, but instead they slid it into a low-friction workflow in which the primary action is unconscious after you've been using it for any length of time.

It was wrong when Ubuntu did it with the Amazon lens crap. It's wrong when Apple does it. They're not special.



Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: